[AMRadio] Annual 160m AM Night this Evening beginning at 8 PM CST/0200Z


Donald Chester k4kyv at charter.net
Thu Dec 26 15:05:49 EST 2013


The Greater Cincinnati ARA 1936 net will hold its Annual AM night on 
Thursday, December 26, 2013.

The net operates on weekly on 1936 kHz and is normally conducted each 
Thursday at 9PM EST/8PM CST/0200 GMT in SSB mode,  but on the last 
Thursday of the year the net is conducted entirely on AM.

The official start time is 9PM EST, however on AM night a pre-list of 
check-in's will be taken starting at 6PM EST. Participation in the 
pre-check-ins is encouraged so that the AM operation is well established 
on the frequency by official net time. At the close of the official net, 
the AM activity usually continues well into the wee hours in roundtable 
QSO form.

The frequency of 1936 kHz was chosen because the net, founded in the 
year 1936 following the use of 160m for emergency communication during 
the flood of that year, was revitalised in 1986 on the 50th anniversary 
of the GCARA, and is one of the oldest nets in the country.  AM rigs of 
every vintage and description are welcome.

Please join us December 26th for some "gud ole" 160 meter Amplitude 
Modulation !

Don, k4kyv (TNX  George, K8RRH)


More information about the AMRadio mailing list

This page last updated 18 Nov 2017.